20 people are here viewing courses right now!
Over the last 30 days our courses have been viewed 26,971 times.

Quick Guide to The New Zealand Tertiary System.

Before commencing your study in New Zealand, it is a good idea to understand how the system works. Below is Find My Study’s quick guide.

The Tertiary Sector Structure

The New Zealand Tertiary Sector consists of Universities, Institutes of Technology and Polytechnics (ITPs), Private Training Establishments (PTEs), Wananga and Workplace Training Organisations, such as ITOs. All of the tertiary organisations listed on Find My Study are approved by New Zealand Qualification Authority (NZQA) and are up to NZQA’s standards.

New Zealand Government Agencies

Tertiary study in New Zealand is overseen by 3 Government organisations: The New Zealand Qualifications Authority (NZQA), The Tertiary Education Commission (TEC) and the Ministry of Education. NZQA is responsible for setting the levels of Qualifications for New Zealand secondary schools and all tertiary institutes, with the exception of universities. TEC is responsible for funding Tertiary institutes that offer Courses that NZQA has approved. TEC also funds New Zealand Universities.The Ministry of Education is responsible for all education in New Zealand, from early childhood, primary and secondary schools and then all Tertiary Education. The Ministry of Education is also in control of the Export Education Levy which funds some institutes for international students.

Course Levels

The New Zealand Education System uses Levels to classify Tertiary qualifications, starting at level 1 (Certificates) and going up to level 10 (Doctorate Degree). To advance to the next level of the tertiary system, students need to complete enough points on the previous level. Some of the courses, like Bachelor Degrees, consist of multiple levels (students start at Level 5 and finish the qualification with Level 7).